It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves.William Shakespeare

We see English at HLC as a journey of discovery as we guide our students to communicate with and interpret the world around us, both in a literal and figurative way. We see our roles as supporting our students to shape who they can be through sharing their ideas, shaping their judgements and broaden their horizons.

Our KS3 curriculum is founded on this concept of a journey as we begin by studying the world around us with a focus on themes, such as New Beginnings and Planet Earth, moving on to looking at Dystopian literature as our students mature, and finally challenge their views through concepts such as Crime and Conflict and Prejudice and Discrimination.

Each of these units interweaves the key skills of Language and Literature as students complete a wider study alongside a core seminal text. We aim to ensure that all our students have engaged with and felt the joy of exploring the best of what literature has to offer. To further enhance students’ love of the written word we work closely with the Drama department to bring literature to life. This includes visiting authors, theatre visits and workshops.

At GCSE we follow the Eduqas specification with our students sitting a Literature and Language qualification at the end of Year 11. For these qualifications, our students study a range of plays, novels and poetry, as well as deliver speeches and presentations. We firmly believe that this inspiring curriculum ensures that our students are equipped with both the fundamental skills of reading, writing and speaking but also develop a love of the written and spoken word that will open doorways to the wider world.

KS3 students will be set one piece of homework per week for English. Week 1 homework will be revision of the week’s key learning and a revision quiz. Week 2 will be project based and will be to encourage students to improve their reading and writing skills to enhance their learning from the classroom. All homework will be available through Microsoft Teams.

KS4 students will be set one piece of homework per week for English. Homework will be revision activities about the texts / exam specifications that we are studying in class and will be provided using a range of platforms such as GCSEPod and ‘Openbook’. Students will also have weekly revision quizzes to complete, all homework will be available through Microsoft Teams.

Image

Meet the Team


Mr. Adam Couzens
Head of Dept
adam.couzens@lct.education


Miss. Nazneen Haq
English Teacher
nazneen.haq@lct.education


Mrs. Sally Ginder
English Teacher
sally.ginder@lct.education


Mrs. Elizabeth Brickley
English Teacher
elizabeth.brickley@lct.education


Mr. Paul Barnicott
English Teacher
paul.barnicott@lct.education


Miss. Josie Thomas
English Teacher
josie.thomas@lct.education


Mrs. Sandra Towers
English Teacher
sandra.towers@lct.education


Miss. Jenny Wedge
English Teacher
jennifer.wedge@lct.education


Miss. Laura Clarke
English Teacher
laura.clarke@lct.education


Mr. David Handley
English Teacher
david.handley1@lct.education


Mr. James Roden
English Teacher
james.roden@lct.education


Mrs. Nichola Champion
English Teacher
nichola.champion@lct.education


Mrs. Sara Harper Stevens
English Teacher
sara.harperstevens@lct.education


Mrs. Alison Williams 
English Teacher
alison.williams1@lct.education


Mrs. Leanne Richards
Intervention Lead
leanne.richards1@lct.education


Mrs. Lucy French-Rodgers
English Teacher
lucy.frenchrodgers@lct.education