Keeping you safe is our absolute priority and safeguarding is embedded into all aspects of our school. We are committed to keeping you safe both inside and outside of school and have seven staff (Designated Safeguarding Leads) who are specially trained to deal with issues relating to safeguarding and child protection. As a student of HLC you will be aware of who your Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSLs) are, know where to find them and also know that they are available to support you should you ever need them. In addition to our Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSLs), all of our staff receive regular safeguarding training and are available to you should you feel more confident or comfortable to share your initial concerns with them.

We take extremely seriously our duty of care to you as our students, to your families and to our staff. The aim of our child protection and safeguarding policy is to promote welfare and to make all within our school feel safe. We understand that life isn’t always straightforward and that different people may need different support at different times and our team of staff are here to support you whenever you need.

If you have any concerns about your own safety or that of any other child at HLC, please speak to one of our Designated staff listed below or to another adult in the building. If it is outside of school hours/weekends or during holidays then please be aware that Family Connect (run by Telford and Wrekin Council) can also be contacted on 01952 385385 where you will be able to speak to a Safeguarding Advisor.

During periods of enforced school closure, we remain committed to your safeguarding. Whilst it may not be possible for you to meet face to face with our staff during these times, we remain available for contact via email at hlc.safeguarding@lct.education.

In addition, a range of external support services are available and are listed below:


Image
Safeguarding Links

A free, private and confidential service where you can talk about anything.

VISIT SITE

Family Connect is a free, confidential service providing, impartial advice, information, guidance and support on a full range of children's services.

VISIT SITE

Free, safe and anonymous online support for young people.

VISIT SITE

Child Exploitation and Online Protection command.

VISIT SITE

Supporting teenage mental health

VISIT SITE

Whatever you're going through, a Samaritan will face it with you. Call 116 123 for free

VISIT SITE

Emotional health and wellbeing support

VISIT SITE

Call 0808 800 5000

VISIT SITE

Mental health and wellbeing support

VISIT SITE
 
 
 
Image
Safeguarding Team

If you feel you need to talk about any issue relating to your safety and wellbeing or that of a friend, please talk to any member of staff or a member of your child protection team.

Mr. Mark Hignett
Lead DSL/Lead for LAC/CIC
mark.hignett@lct.education


Mrs. Debbie McGreal
DSL/Welfare Hub Manager
debbie.mcgreal@lct.education


Mrs. Kerry Turner
DSL/Student Support Manager
kerry.turner@lct.education


Mrs. Laura Bowen
DSL/Student Support Manager
laura.bowen@lct.education


Mrs. Shelley Swinney
DSL/Student Support Manager
shelley.swinney@lct.education


Mrs. Magda Farley
DSL/Assistant Headteacher
magda.farley@lct.education


Mrs. Jill Lock
DSL/Assistant Headteacher
jill.lock@lct.education


Mrs. Alison King
Student Support Manager
alison.king@lct.education


Mr. Stuart Crowder
Student Support Manager
stuart.crowder@lct.education


Miss. Louise Reilly
Mental Health Lead
louise.reilly@lct.education


Mr. Steve Tyrer
PSCO/Student Support Manager
steve.tyrer@lct.education


Mrs. Thompson
HLC Governor


Mrs. Fozzard
Community School Nurse